New Year. New Month. Old Me!!

I probably should have written this back when everyone was still saying “Happy New Year” and making new year resolutions. Which reminds me, I haven’t wished you guys a happy new year yet so:

happy new year decorative plate
Photo by JESHOOTS.com on Pexels.com
Happy Awesome Year.

Now that that’s out of the way, we may proceed.

You may also wonder why I’m writing in the effervescent (bubbly) hyperactive (super enthusiastic) way. Well, it’s because I’ve been binging on superwoman’s videos on YouTube. (Yes, I subscribed and you should too). She’s like the Indian version of Marachi and she’s super funny too.

If you’re also wondering why I’m using words like effervescent and hyperactive, it’s because someone told me that my book, Romola, involves a lot of ‘big words’ that I was using over and over again. I really doubt that. The biggest words I remember using were:

Balustrade:

(Noun) A railing supported by balusters, especially one forming an ornamental parapet to a balcony, bridge, or terrace.

Ethereal:

(Adjective) Extremely delicate and light in a way that seems not to be of this world. (II) Heavenly or spiritual.

I’m thinking of adding effervescent to the list because ever since said person said that, I’ve found myself inclined to using and searching for ‘big words.’ Right now, I’m stuck on effervescent.

Effervescent:

(Adjective)  (of a liquid) giving off bubbles; fizzy. (II)Vivacious and enthusiastic.

So, before this becomes a rant post, let me just hop to what I have to tell you today.

It’s a new year (somewhat) and some people believe that a new year is a new time for transformation. A time to come out of whatever cocoon they had buried themselves in on the 31st of December. Let me burst your effervescent bubble. A new year is not a new time for transformation.

I used to believe in new year resolutions. That was until I found myself breaking all my resolutions. They have never lasted up to two months in a year. And the funny thing is I have/had a five-year plan (I haven’t decided if I want to toss the thing out the window yet)

I’m not saying new year resolutions are bad but I’m just saying that they are more or less promises that I promise myself that I will not break knowing that I will eventually break them.  I used to write a whole list of all the things I wanted to achieve in a year. I would write them in a piece of paper and convice myself that these would lead me to better me. How foolish I was back then.

The thing is: Many people believe that the new year is the time for them to be a new, better version of themselves. You know, new year, new friends, out with old and in with the new. Then you see posts like: good bye to all the haters.

And I’m like: You had a whole year and you still couldn’t get rid of the haters. (rolls eyes).

The thing is, broken glass would always remain shards. Even scrooge needed a visit from Christmas spirits representing different years to change him. It wasn’t at the turn of a new year or the work of one spirit.

So no. The turn of a new year is not the best time to change to a new leaf. Even trees have to wait till spring or in Nigeria’s case, rainy season. If you really want to be a better person, or learn that language or achieve that goal then you need to know that you can make goals at any time. The important thing is to be SMART about it.

The best time to turn a new leaf or be a new scrooge is now.

You don’t have to wait for a new year before you can become a better person. This hour right now is your time. You can set out on those goals right now and I think that’s a convenient reason for me to use this as an excuse to post my first post of the new year at the end of the first month.

What can I say? I’m awesome

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.